Monthly Screenings
צ.: ורה עציון
2001 Festival

July 12th-21st, 2001

Opening Film: Shrek by Andrew Adamson and Vicky Jenson

Guests: Stephen Frears, B.Z Goldberg, Henry Bean, Malgorzata Szumowska, Ferzan Ozpetek, Radu Gabrea, Andrei Smirnov, Veronique Cayla, David Kessler, Diane Weyerman

Awards for Israeli and International Cinema

The Wolgin Award - Best Israeli Feature:

Late Marriage, directed by Dover Kosashvilli 

The Wolgin Award - Best Israeli Documentary:

It’s About Time, directed by Ayelet Menahemi, Elone Ariel 

Special Jury Prize Documentary:

Detained, directed by Anat Even, Ada Ushpiz

The Wolgin Award - Best Short Film:

Offside, directed by Eliran Knoller, Amir Gilad 

Honorable Mention Short Film:

Minus-Plus, directed by Shahar Cohen Expecting, directed by Sigalit Lipshitz

The New Foundation for Cinema and Television Award

The Key, directed by Dan and Noit Geva

Lipper Award for Best Israeli Screenplay

Tzahi Grad for the Script of Giraffes
Ayelet Menahemi, Elona Ariel for the Script of It’s About Time

The Noga, Israel Film Service and Jerusalem Cinematheque Award

Asesino, directed by Nurit Kedar

Best TV Series - Award In Memory of Anat Pirchi:

My First Sony, by Uri Barbash, Uri Sabag & Einat Bikel

Best TV Drama Award In Memory of Anat Pirchi:

Voices from the Heartland: Mother V, directed by Shachar Rozen

Jerusalem Foundation Prize for New Israeli Directors

Dover Kosashvilli for Late Marriage

In The Spirit of Freedom Award - Best Feature Film:

The Years of Our Life, directed by Daniele Gaglianone

In The Spirit of Freedom Award - Best Documentary:

Between The Lines, directed by Yifat Kedar

Honorable Mention:

One of Hollywood Ten, directed by Karl Francis

Special award by Lia Van Leer: Promises, directed by B.Z Goldberg

The Jewish Experience Award - Best Feature:

Unfair Competition, directed by Ettore Scola

The Jewish Experience Award - Best Documentary:

Trembling Before G-D, directed by Sandi Simcha Dubowski

Honorable Mention:

The Believer
Waiting For The Messiah

Life Achievement Award:

Stephen Frears

Achievement Award:

Marek Rozenbaum

Important Titles:

A Ma Soeur! Dir. Catherine Breillat 

Angelo’s Film Dir. Péter Forgács 

Bangkok Dangerous Dir. Oxide Pang, Danny Pang 

Before Night Falls Dir. Julian Schnabel 

The Believer Dir. Henry Bean 

Brother Dir. Takashi Kitano 

La Faute a Voltaire Dir. Abdel Kechiche 

Gimme Shelter Dir. David and Albert Maysles, Charlotte Zwerin 

Hedwig and the Angry Itch Dir. John Cameron Mitchell 

The Hundred Steps Dir. Marco Tullio Giordana 

I am Josh Polansky’s Brother Dir. Raphaël Nadjari 

In the Mood for Love Dir. Wong Kar-Wai 

Innocence Dir. Paul Cox 

Joint Security Area Dir. Chan-Wook Park 

Landscape Dir. Martin Šulík 

Memento Dir. Christopher Nolan 

Platform Dir. Jia Zhang-ke 

The Pledge Dir. Sean Penn 

The Swamp Dir. Lucrecia Martel 

The Sweetest Sound Dir. Alan Berliner 

Trembling Before G-D Dir. Sandi Simcha DuBowski 

La Ville est Tranquille Dir. Robert Guédiguian 

The Virgin Dir. Diego Donnhofer 

Waiting for Messiah Dir. Daniel Burman 

Warm Water Under a Red Bridge Dir. Shohei Imamura 

Werckmeister Harmonies Dir. Béla Tarr 

What Time Is It There? Dir. Tsai Ming-Liang 

The Years of Our Lives Dir. Daniele Gaglianone